Captain Slog

Any road up enough of this fine fancy chat from the chairman’s blog. He was not there! (he was in spirit… Ed.) We were and it was unbelieveably hard. We managed only a mile in the first two hours! Insufficient water for most of the 3.5 miles travelled today meaning we were hauling Lady Brenda over mud shallows and spent a good deal of time peering down the weed hatch to find what disgusting object is wrapped round the prop. I spent most of my “rowing time” paddling my skiff’ ‘cos the waterway, an advisory, term wasn’t wide enough to row. I’m a highly trained athlete and I didn’t expect to be on my knees paddling! As a consequence muscles not used to this activity are giving me gip.

 

Today I think we travelled approx 3.5 miles and crawled through 22 locks total so far 10.5 miles 33 locks – I’m told it will get better

We achieved our objective Aspley Marina Huddersfield to Slaithwaite.

This entry was posted in The Early Days. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

